h1

Are you a Dreamer?

April 10, 2008

I have been thinking a lot lately about my dreams as a child. I had a few re-occurring ones that were rather interesting. Here is a couple:

 

When I was around 8 years old I would have nightly dreams about being Don Johnson’s character in Miami Vice. We would cruise around Southern California (I know, not Miami) in a huge Monster Truck and just destroy stuff. In typical Miami Vice fashion, I strictly wore white suits with the sleeves pushed up. I remember waking up every morning after these dreams feeling so incredibly happy. It’s funny how an eight year old boy’s mind works. We get off on destroying cities with monster trucks.

 

The second reoccurring dream I can remember was fairly consistent for about 3 years. From about the ages of 5-8 I can remember dreaming about my little backyard playground. I would climb and climb and climb and then suddenly look down and realize I was way above the Earth. My immediate reaction would be to freak out. I would fall to the ground, but never make contact. It always seemed like half of the dream consisted of me falling and falling, but I always woke up before my demise. Is this morbid? Maybe. However, as time went on, I got used to this dream and would almost be in a lucid state when this scenario started. It actually became kind of fun after a while! I kind of miss that invigorated feeling I would get when falling.

 

I think I need to start journaling my dreams so that they happen more regularly. I want to be a dreamer.

 

Tell me about some of your dreams as a child!

 

5 comments

  1. I can’t remember a dream from when I was a child. However, I must say, your 2 dreams are so clear and specific, it is incredible. I think mine were mostly shapes and movement that were associated with strong feelings.
    But about 3 nights ago I dreamed that Dustin and I were running through this house with Zombies everywhere. We would be running through a room that was light and safe (because zombies don’t like the light, DUH!) and then go through a door into a dark room full of screaming, scary zombies! This went on and on until I finally woke myself up. I decided the only reasonable explanation for this was that we needed to rent I am Legend. And that we did, my friend. That we did.


  2. Yea, I am kind of the opposite. As I get older, it gets harder and harder for me to recollect dreams. Which is kind of saddening I suppose. I can still remember a dream I had when I was 7ish about heaven. It was extremely vivid and impactful for me.

    That zombie dream sounds pretty thrilling!

    Jo – Thanks for the comment!


  3. Sometimes I dream that Mark is cheating on me. When I wake up, I’m actually so mad at him. It’s really unfair for him and I’m sure it has something to do with my own insecurity since he is the most loving and adorable husband in the universe.

    I used to dream that I could fly – it was really lucid. It was the best feeling ever!!


  4. Look at my blog to see about one of mine. Click on my name!



Leave a Reply

