h1

Music Monday 1.0

April 28, 2008

I promised myself I wouldn’t blog so much, but I am on entry #3 for today. Oops!

I am going to start doing “Music Mondays” again. It will just be a simple little entry with some bands I think you should check out, a brief description, and perhaps some mp3s to check out.

My first edition of this series will be dedicated to the genre “Shoegaze”. From Wikipedia.org, shoegaze is:

The shoegazing sound featured extensive use of guitar effects, and indistinguishable vocal melodies that blended into the creative noise of the guitars

Rawr!

Now, not all of these bands are pure shoegaze, but they make use of a lot of those spacey, wall of sound type vibes.

Mew – And The Glass Handed Kites – This is probably the best band to open you up to this sort of music. Unlike a lot of the early 90s shoegaze bands, Mew has very polished production and clear cut melodies. This album has a guest appearance from J. Mascis of Dinosaur Jr. Bottom line: You will like this album.
http://www.myspace.com/mew
Mew - And The Glass Handed Kites

My Bloody Valentine – Loveless – This album pretty much started it all. Released in 1991, this is probably the most defining album for the genre. The layering of vocals, fuzzy guitars and swishy drums make this album just massive sounding. It is still really fun and quirky to listen to.
http://www.myspace.com/mybloodyvalentine
My Bloody Valentine - Loveless

Asobi Seksu – Citrus – This band is fairly new, however worthy of mention. I feel really happy when I listen to this female fronted band. They mix a lot of shoegaze and brit-pop sounds along with some electronica and even punk. Really hard to describe, but click the link below and see if you like it!
http://www.myspace.com/asobiseksu
Asobi Seksu - Citrus

Slowdive – Souvlaki – Finally, I would really recommend grabbing this album. Brian Eno produced it in 1993. This would be on the slower side of the shoegaze movement. More textures and crescendos. A mandatory listen.
http://www.myspace.com/slowdive2006
Slowdive - Souvlaki

4 comments

  1. Slowdive makes my heart flutter… in a good way.


  2. Indeed. Let me know if you’d like any further “samples” of any of these bands and I will put them in the “Fight Club”


  3. I am very pleased that you are beginning Music Mondays. It is time for you to exercise that passionate and immense musicbrainmuscle of yours.


  4. Thanks, Hosh. I decided that I will star posting actual mp3s for people to check out and stream off my blog because most people aren’t going to click onto their myspace pages. Music Monday 2.0 will be easier to use.



Leave a Reply

