h1

The Creative Process

May 9, 2008

Mark posted a few weeks ago about his writing process. He mentioned how he likes to conceptualize songs in his head before sitting down and plucking them out on the guitar. I decided to give this a shot. I have been writing melodies and song structures in my head for the past few weeks using my cell phone’s voice recorder and moleskin. It’s a great way to write because you aren’t confined to your own level of guitar playing. I am used to sitting down with my d-40 and strumming the same four chords I always do. When it is all in your mind, the possibilities are endless. By the time you sit down to work it out musically, you already know exactly how you want it to sound, thus preventing yourself from falling back into those same patterns.

 

I suppose you can heed my words with a grain of salt. I am not really a great writer yet. I have always been really good at collaborating and helping other people expand their songs. My own music has always received very harsh self-judgment. Maybe it’s possibly rooted in my own insecurities or maybe the songs really do just suck. I figure if I keep my mind active and engaged the ideas will keep flowing out. Eventually one of them has to be decent! I really miss playing music live, so hopefully soon I can gather together some musicians and hit up a few clubs for fun.

 

8 comments

  1. Great writers don’t simply write better songs than everyone else. They just write a lot more songs than everyone else. You gotta sift through a lot of crap to get to that one gem.

    It’s all about odds. The more you write, the better change you’ll have of finding that great song.


  2. i’ve been experimenting with writing as well. for now, they’re all crap. can’t wait to hear your tunes!


  3. is that how you do it, mark? lol You seem to be able to poop gold.


  4. This is awesome! I can’t wait to hear what you come up with.


  5. you miss playing music live….???!~~??~??~ ?You play live music 4 times a week! j/k….I know exactly what you are talking about. I miss strike, I miss going to shows, I can’t wait to hear your stuff.


  6. haha, yes. I love playing at ORCC, but I miss playing music in smelly clubs where the sounds sucks and half the people aren’t paying attention 😉


  7. “I miss playing music in smelly clubs where the sounds sucks and half the people aren’t paying attention”

    Haha, I don’t know if I miss that part of it. I miss playing the youth groups and churches where people were just really hungry for God and worshiped Him like crazy. But then again, that’s what I’m doing right now.

    If you want to poop gold you have to eat some first.


  8. yea, I don’t mean it to sound like I am complaining at all! I love playing at ORCC, I just miss other musical outlets as well.

    not sure if I am interested in eating poop…



Leave a Reply

