h1

A Holiday at the Sea!

May 28, 2008

This past weekend, I had the joy of camping in Lawrence, Kansas with a lovely group of people that I had met through the band Anathallo. It was one of the best times I have had in a while. The group of us clicked so well. Here’s what we did:

 

  • Pulled in on Saturday afternoon
  • Immediately gave some hugs, pitched our tent and built a fire
  • Sat around eating hobo-meals and playing songs on the acoustic.
  • Swing dancing with Mel (I suck)
  • Sleeping under the stars, yelling profanities at loud birds.
  • Running into town for breakfast/lunch.
  • Lots of laughter
  • Swimming in a lake with nu-metal kids.
  • Man-time out in the woods with hatchets and knives, gathering firewood.
  • Brats/Hot Dogs/Burgers.
  • A big storm coming through, forcing us to pack up camp.
  • Finding out that the Colour Revolt was playing that very night.
  • Going to the show, then all 11 of us crashing in one hotel room.
  • The long road home with my homie, Chris

It really was a great/relaxing weekend. Here are a few pictures:

 

11 comments

  1. Swing dancing is a blast!!


  2. yea, it’s something I would like to be good at!


  3. We took lessons about a year ago. We think we rock, but people probably really think, “Ohhh, how sweet, that “special needs” couple over there is trying really hard to dance…”


  4. (no offense to special needs people and what not)


  5. haha! Screw the nay-sayers.


  6. greatest weekend ever. i can only imagine the memphis series being a whole lot like pie heaven.


  7. Ah! Oh! Crazy! I went to a Broken Social Scene show where you were camping, I think.

    Lawrence. Wow. Never seen so many hipsters crowded into one place in my LIFE!

    Glad you had fun, Jersh 🙂


  8. Way to go hippies.


  9. don’t act like you aren’t a hipster, abby! haha.

    bone, I embrace my hippyness.


  10. Bone is jealous.

    It’s ok, he can come next time!


  11. […] and Chad to meet up with the Boulder Church people to camp. I am going better prepared than my last trip. I will have a flashlight and sleeping pad this time. I hear that Mesa Verde is extremely […]



Leave a Reply

