h1

Love

June 25, 2008

Prayer for Messiah

His blood on my arm is warm as a bird
his heart in my hand is heavy as lead
his eyes through my eyes shine brighter than love
O send out the raven ahead of the dove

His life in my mouth is less than a man
his death on my breath is harder than stone
his eyes through my eyes shine brighter than love
O send out the raven ahead of the dove

O send out the raven ahead of the dove
O sing from your chains where you’re chained in a cave
your eyes through my eyes shine brighter than love
your blood in my ballad collapes the grave

O sing from your chains where you’re chained in a cave
your eyes through my eyes shine brighter than love
your heart in my hand is heavy as lead
your blood on my arm is warm as a bird

O break from your branches a green branch of love
after the raven had died for the dove

-Leonard Cohen

3 comments

  1. A bit more repetition than I would prefer, but beautiful writing and ideas.


  2. what poetry should I read next, matthew? Lately, I have been reading some Whitman, Ginsberg and Snyder. What should be next?


  3. Whoa. Absolutely breathtaking. I’ve not read this before, but it hit me like a ton of brick. I really, really like it.



Leave a Reply

