h1

Love Will Be Our Way

July 9, 2008

I subscribe to Dr. Doug Groothuis’ blog. He is a professor over at the Denver Seminary. He is a very knowledgeable man, but overall, I don’t really relate to a lot of his blog entries. However, he made this post today, it hit me very well this morning.

 

“Antidotes to Contemporary Stupefaction”

1. Read old, challenging books.
2. Talk to people in situations with no background noise.
3. Pray through the Psalms.
4. Read the Book of Ecclesiastes multiple times until it sinks in.
5. Talk to older people and really listen to them.
6. Sit in silence, doing nothing for short or long periods of time (but not in a yoga posture).
7. Thank God for what cannot be taken away.
8. Write a letter (not an email) to a friend or family member.
9. See a worthwhile film and then talk about it with a group of people. Don’t use the word “awesome.”
10. Drive in silence–no radio, music, cell phones, etc.
11. Listen to John Coltrane’s “A Love Supreme” until you get it. But don’t accept the theology of the liner notes.
12. Fast and pray for a few days (without telling anyone who doesn’t need to know).
13. Pray written prayers from The Book of Common Prayer.
14. Read historical confessional statements such as The Thirty Nine Articles or The Westminster Confession of Faith or The Athansian Creed.
15. Do not interrupt people when you talk with them. Do not finish their sentences. Maybe they are looking for just the right word.
16. Weep with those who weep.
17. Stop watching television for one week. Note what happens to your soul.
18. Listen to a classic book on tape when you are driving.
19 Buy someone a book they wouldn’t buy for themselves and ask them to read it.
20. Pray for strangers as they pass you by.
21. Take communion on a regular basis.
22. Look for opportunities to share the Gospel with strangers in creative ways. (I’ve done it in a public steam bath several times.)
23. Listen to Mars Hill Audio interviews.

10 comments

  1. Hi. I like what you’ve got going on here. I’m looking to build up incoming links for my blog. Would you like to exchange blogroll links with me? If yes, please visit: http://greatdebater.wordpress.com/2008/06/25/why-i-blog/ and leave your URL there. The purpose of my blog is to generate debate on anything and everything that matters.


  2. I’m going to have to try somme of that stuff out.


  3. thanks for re-posting this list, Mosh. I got a lot out of it, esp the part on pray and fast and not let anybody know and praying for strangers as they pass you by. so good.


  4. those caught my eye as well, great minds think alike I guess!


  5. i LOVE this post!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! thx!!!!!! sarah


  6. Maybe I will grow on you if you follow my advice…


  7. Doug, thank you so much for the comment! I didn’t expect you to come across my blog. I hope you didn’t take it as an insult to your blog. Anyway, thanks!


  8. I loved this. I always enjoy the simplicity in things like these. Many people are on a continual search for the next huge revelation and drown themselves in complicated texts and forced revelatory ideas. But it’s the simplicity that can be so profound.


  9. I will be revisiting this list often. woah.


  10. 🙂



Leave a Reply

