h1

Hallowed be Thy Name

July 10, 2008

My friend and I were recently discussing the topic of prayer. Specifically, we were discussing the Lord’s Prayer:

 

Matthew 6:

 

 5“And when you pray, do not be like the hypocrites, for they love to pray standing in the synagogues and on the street corners to be seen by men. I tell you the truth, they have received their reward in full. 6But when you pray, go into your room, close the door and pray to your Father, who is unseen. Then your Father, who sees what is done in secret, will reward you. 7And when you pray, do not keep on babbling like pagans, for they think they will be heard because of their many words. 8Do not be like them, for your Father knows what you need

 

 9“This, then, is how you should pray:
   ” ‘Our Father in heaven,
   hallowed be your name,
 
10your kingdom come,
   your will be done
      on earth as it is in heaven.
 
11Give us today our daily bread.
 
12Forgive us our debts,
      as we also have forgiven our debtors.
 
13And lead us not into temptation,
   but deliver us from the evil one.
[a]14For if you forgive men when they sin against you, your heavenly Father will also forgive you. 15But if you do not forgive men their sins, your Father will not forgive your sins.

 

I remember growing up, and my family would say this prayer during every holiday as the corporate prayer. It would be easy for me, as a young member of a charismatic church to toss this tradition aside as “mindless repetition”. I really believe that there is a profound power in these words, and repetition in this instance is a very good thing. Even if we don’t exactly repeat these words, Jesus laid out a format on how to properly commune with the Father. Let’s break it down:

 

He starts by revering our heavenly Father, offering words to exalt his Holiness and Divinity. Too oft in our culture, we forget the respect part when it comes to engaging with God. He is our creator and maker, additionally, He is our friend. It is pretty overwhelming.

 

Secondly, he asks that God’s will see completion on Earth and Heaven. This is more important than our own agenda. It helps us keep our vision in line with God’s. When we want His will to be done, first and foremost, a lot of the clatter and haze that our minds develop through the course of refinement.

 

“Give us this day our daily bread”. – “God, what is it you need me to do today? How can I further your Kingdom in my every day life? Fill me with your love so I can spread it.”

 

Then He calls for us to walk in forgiveness. That those whom I have offended, cheated, hurt, etc would forgive me for my error, and that I would forgive those that have done the same to me. If we just performed this act everyday, our worlds would be radically different. To add on to forgiveness acceptance, He asks that we not be tempted to sin, whether that be from the evil one or ourselves, because if God is capable of loving and forgiving us, we are capable of anything.

 

I know this post is a bit long, but it really has encouraged me, and I hope it does the same for you. I encourage you to try to include the Lord’s Prayer in your daily ritual; I would love to hear everyone’s thoughts on it.

7 comments

  1. Word.


  2. My pastor actually commented on this today. Though a short prayer/poem, it really is jampacked.

    My favorite part is “Forgive us our debts, as we also have forgiven our debtors.” Which is also to say, “Forgive us our sins, as we have also forgiven those who have SINNED AGAINST us”

    Love it. You’re dead right.


  3. thanks man!


  4. But of course!


  5. Hey Josh – just wanted to let you know how much I enjoy reading your blog and have really felt blessed by your insightfulness! The emergent church post was great, too. Funny this is the same Josh I’ve been watching in jacob’s old movies – drooling all over the place and breaking phones and just being goofy!


  6. First of all – sorry if this posts twice – not sure if it is working from my phone or not.

    Just wanted to let you know how much I really enjoy reading your blog! I have really felt blessed by your insightful thoughts on this and so many other topics – especially that emergent church discussion. That was great!

    It’s funny and kind of hard to believe this is the same Josh that I just seen in old school videos drooling, smashing phones, and running around Rapids in a helmet and acting goofy!

    Kind of a funny little side note, The Lord’s Prayer was the only prayer (besides the table prayer)I had ever prayed until I had met Jacob and starting going to VCOC. Growing up Lutheran, I had no clue I could pray to God more then to say thanks, and ask for stuff! Funny – the only form of communication between the Father and us was never really covered in Sunday School or confirmation or any of that stuff!


  7. thanks lisa! I didn’t realize you had your own personal blog, I will get you on my links right now!



Leave a Reply

