h1

The Girl in the Window

August 5, 2008

I just read this news article about a girl in Florida who was so grossly under-cared for. It makes me sick to my stomach. It also makes me completely aware of the fact that this world needs love.

Armstrong called the girl’s condition “environmental autism.” Danielle had been deprived of interaction for so long, the doctor believed, that she had withdrawn into herself.

The most extraordinary thing about Danielle, Armstrong said, was her lack of engagement with people, with anything. “There was no light in her eye, no response or recognition. . . . We saw a little girl who didn’t even respond to hugs or affection. Even a child with the most severe autism responds to those.”

Danielle’s was “the most outrageous case of neglect I’ve ever seen.”

Read the article here

3 comments

  1. What a horrible story. I’d like to know how she’s going to be in 5 years though. It sounds like she’s blooming like a new rose. Redemption is awesome. God bless those foster folks.


  2. so heartbreaking! i will be keeping danielle in my prayers and the beautiful people who have taken on this enormous task to make up for the love she’s lost out on so far.


  3. I think that was about the most sad and depressing thing I ever read. I can’t even imagine. Thank God for the people along her path that have cared for her and loved her. This would definitely be a story worth tracking for the long term.



Leave a Reply

