h1

White Towels

August 13, 2008

Teresa inspired me to post some Whitman on my blog:

I am satisfied….I see, dance, laugh, sing;

As God comes a loving bedfellow and sleeps at my

  Side all night and close on the peep of the day,

And leaves for me baskets covered with white towels

  Bulging the house with their plenty,

Shall I postpone my acceptation and realization and

  Scream at my eyes,

That they turn from gazing after and down the road,

And forthwith cipher and show me to a cent,

Exactly the contents of one, and exactly the contents

  of two, and which is ahead?

 

-Walt Whitman – excerpt from Song of Myself

2 comments

  1. Whitman is GOOD. Do you like Hopkins?


  2. never read, what would you reccomend?



Leave a Reply

