h1

Responsibility, What’s That?

November 7, 2008

Last night, I went and watched the Bronco game with some of my closest friends: Jonas, Tiff, Mark and Judi (and the kids). These guys are like my family out here in Colorado, and I am grateful that they are in my life.

 

Anyhoo, for some reason I have kind of been freaked out about the idea of responsibility. Marriage, Families, Mortgages, etc. etc. It all seems kind of out of reach for me (I know it’s not). What furthered this notion in me last night, was when we were sitting around the table, eating a wonderful pot roast, and Bella (Jonas and Tiff’s youngest girl) started choking on a piece of pineapple. Tiffy reached in and grabbed the fruit in one swoop and everything was back to normal in a matter of 5 seconds. We all went back to eating like nothing happened. I was thinking to myself, “Man, I would probably have a nervous breakdown on a daily basis with young kids!”.

 

It’s crazy how much we are able to grow and reach potential. I know some day, I’ll be a good Dad/Husband/Grandpa/Whatever, it just seems way out of my scope right now, haha.

7 comments

  1. responsibility, what’s that? responsibility, not quite yet!


  2. Rachel, I don’t know if you realize how excited I am that you are blogging.

    Also, MxPx ftw every time.


  3. I know the feeling all too well, Josh! God is cool though because generally, He doesn’t DUMP responsibility on us in one lump sum. When you were 5, your parents prob didn’t tell you to start planning for retirement & set your money aside since social security won’t be around for when you retire. Generally, I find God does things incrementally so we can adjust to the weight a little bit at a time. Be encouraged – you’ll be a great husband & dad at the right time. 🙂


  4. thanks sarah!


  5. Josh – I admit that I’m still terrified to have kids. I was thinking the same thing last night when bella choked. God will have grace for us to endure these things when the time is right.


  6. It probably still is a scary situation for Jonas and Tiff, but after 9 (or 10?) years of having young kids, they have both fished so many things out of little mouths and esophaguses (literally) that it’s easy for them to do it and stay calm. Trust me, they weren’t always just calm when stuff like that happened. God gives us a natural learning curve.


  7. I agree with all of the above comments. Its one of those things that you don’t think you’re ever ready for but when the time comes and your kid needs you, you just act. You don’t even have time to think or panic until after its all over and by then all is well, Gods grace has seen you through.

    I have no doubt that you, mark and judi will all be amazing parents.



Leave a Reply

