h1

Music Monday 4.0

November 10, 2008

My last Music Monday was on May 19th, so it has been a while since I shared my obsession with you all!

 

First off, I am in the process of downloading the entire Will Oldham discography. He has been making music under such names as Palace Music, Palace Brothers, Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy, etc. etc. I will say this, Superwolf is one of the finest recordings I have ever heard. I believe that Steve Albini engineered it, although no credit is given. It was written by Matt Sweeny and Will Oldham, with additional backing vocals by Sue Scholfield. You can download it here if you like. I would encourage you to go pick it up if you like what you hear!

 

 

Secondly, I just recently read an article about an indie band called Francis and the Lights. Rather than signing conventionally to a record label, they incorporated the band and made it into its own business and got investors to put money into the band. I find this really interesting. I truly think the music industry is making a turn for the better. Read article here.

Leave a Reply

