h1

New Songs

February 18, 2009

I finished two songs this week; I am excited to share them with my blog.

One of them is a country/bluegrass sounding tune called Red River Valley. This is actually the first song that Al and I wrote together. I came up with the main guitar progressions and the melody, and he and I traded off writing the lyrics. I was born in North Dakota, and back in the mid 90s there was a huge flood that affected the state quite heavily. So I wrote the song with that subject matter in mind. It turned out pretty twangy.

The second is a “worship” song (whatever that means!). It almost sounds like a traditional. It’s called Shine a Light Through Me (tentatively). I am hoping to explore some use of rounds and different vocal techniques. We will see!

 

I made a rough track of Red River Valley with Al on Monday evening, so hopefully I can get that posted up on here soon for OURCC. It is very rough sounding, but it’s not meant to be a final product. With the worship song, I’d like to lay it down with Mark and work on it with him. Perhaps it will get some rotation in DenverCity.

2 comments

  1. looking forward to hearing them (even if they’re only rought cuts – that’s all I ever post).


  2. I am way interested in hearing your new songs, Josh! I don’t think I have ever heard a Mickelson original.



Leave a Reply

