h1

Mentor Mentality

March 16, 2009

Ever since the retreat I helped at last week, the subject of mentorship has been heavy on my heart. When I was ages 13-15, I lived in a small town in Minnesota called Alexandria. There was this group of cool 20 something year old men who all had a place together. They completely took me under their wings. I was able to go over and hang with them whenever I wanted to. They never made me feel like an annoying tag-a-long, and they made me always feel included. I really believe their actions directly influenced who I am today.

Flash forward to now. Who am I doing this for? I mean, sure, I lead a small group for kids, I lead at the youth group, but who am I personally getting involved with? I really need to be that influence that I had when I was in that age group.

Random thought for the day, haha.

One comment

  1. Yeah, I realize more and more that music is only a peripheral of my role in ministry. The main focus is, more than ever, discipleship.



Leave a Reply

