h1

Crucified by Nails of Silence

April 10, 2009

I was waiting for the elevator at work today, and I over heard a couple guys talking about their Easter plans. One said “Nah, we aren’t doing anything; my kids are grown up now and not into the whole egg hunt thing”.

It was pretty shocking to me. I was speaking with Hoshi last week, and we were discussing how this needs to be the time when the story of Jesus needs to be yelled from a mountain top. Sometimes, I feel like my relationship with God is kind of like anything else. When you spend a certain amount of time with someone or something, it becomes almost stale or second nature. We need to make a conscious effort to remember exactly what Christ did for us and the impact of those actions.

John 12

23Jesus replied, “The hour has come for the Son of Man to be glorified. 24I tell you the truth, unless a kernel of wheat falls to the ground and dies, it remains only a single seed. But if it dies, it produces many seeds. 25The man who loves his life will lose it, while the man who hates his life in this world will keep it for eternal life. 26Whoever serves me must follow me; and where I am, my servant also will be. My Father will honor the one who serves me.
27″Now my heart is troubled, and what shall I say? ‘Father, save me from this hour’? No, it was for this very reason I came to this hour. 28Father, glorify your name!”
Then a voice came from heaven, “I have glorified it, and will glorify it again.” 29The crowd that was there and heard it said it had thundered; others said an angel had spoken to him.
30Jesus said, “This voice was for your benefit, not mine. 31Now is the time for judgment on this world; now the prince of this world will be driven out. 32But I, when I am lifted up from the earth, will draw all men to myself.” 33He said this to show the kind of death he was going to die.

6 comments

  1. Very good post Josh. I actually would argue that this is the key differentiator between a healthy Christian and a back-slidden one. Thoughts?


  2. I agree.

    I believe in faith expressed in love, like galations 5 talks about. I think if we proclaim Jesus and His story, it’s pretty all encompassing.


  3. Sorry, should have been more specific. I was referring to INTENTIONALLY keeping our relationship with Jesus fresh. If it’s not intentional, it becomes stale like you talked about and you backslide. Every relationship takes work.


  4. totally! Love is a choice


  5. thanks for posting this. I’ve felt sort of apathetic this year, overlooking what an incredible thing we have to celebrate. Thanks for giving me some perspective.


  6. thanks barge!



Leave a Reply

