h1

If It Be Your Will.

September 15, 2009

I am sorry for my lack of blogging lately, I have made my life so busy that certain creative outlets are suffering (like the Kevlar beard).

Anyway, I watched the documentary on Leonard Cohen called I’m Your Man. It features artists such as U2, Nick Cave,Antony, Rufus and Martha Wainwright playing the songs of Mr. Cohen, along with a nice ongoing interview with the man himself throughout the film.

Maybe it was the fact that I was really exhausted or that I have felt a bit dry lately, however I must say, this film was very inspiring for me. To see a man who can hardly sing, yet is considered one of the most prolific song writers of our time. I am going to paraphrase Bono here: “There are carpenters, office workers and public officials out there. Mr. Cohen is a songwriter. That is his job. He sweats over every single line he has ever written and will spend years working on one song”. I have to say, I wish I had that kind of patience and work ethic. My current song writing seems to just kind of come in spurts, I would really like to start pushing through those moments of un-inspiration.

Leonard also mentioned in this documentary that a big breakthrough in his writing came when he came to the realization that he didn’t need to be the hero of every poem. It’s ok to be weak, it’s ok to be imperfect and it’s ok to be faulted. This really struck a chord with me. Too often, we want to roll into every piece of art like a troubadour with all of the answers. It’s ok to just imagine and be fragile.

Anyway, check out this film if you get a chance!\

Leave a Reply

