h1

Spewing

September 16, 2009

In an effort to get closer to God, monks would shave their heads and lock themselves away in solitude in an effort to hear God’s voice. Living on the bare essentials, they would listen for his voice.

I feel like there needs to be a similar stripping in my life. Mainly in the area of my mouth. I need to be simple with my words, and not speculate so much out loud. I have recently been a victim of idle words, and I now feel the pain that they can bring. I don’t want to be the causer of that pain.

The truth is, I don’t know anything. I don’t truly know anyone. So what do I have to speculate on? George Orwell once wrote an entire essay on being simple and direct with one’s language. This is resonating deep in my soul right now.

I ask for the forgiveness of anyone that I have wronged with my words. I want to fill this earth with love and truth, and that starts with my mouth.

3 comments

  1. that Orwell essay is a great one, indeed.

    the only thing i can say is this: it doesn’t start with your mouth. remember, the mouth is only the overflow of the heart. it starts there, brother.


  2. that is very true. It starts with the heart. I guess, I don’t know if certain thoughts will ever go away though, I want to be better at controlling what I vocalize, ya know?


  3. I remember last summer I had this extreme desire for wisdom. I just wanted to be so incredibly wise. I read proverbs a lot, and it helped me to control my tongue better. I say a lot of foolish things, I will be with you on this journey of controlling the tongue.

    As far as certain thoughts not going away, we’re told to take every thought captive to obey Christ (II Corinthians 10.5). So, while I understand the human condition, I at the same time rebuke that certain thoughts won’t go away!

    Peace, brother.



Leave a comment