h1

Weary Hands

September 17, 2009

As many of you know, I am working on writing a worship album with my friend Mark Thomas. I am going to use my blog to post some of the lyrics I have written for it. I fully realize that a lot of people will be uninterested in reading these, and I am totally ok with that. Congregational music is a tricky beast. You have to write something heartfelt and inspired, yet it needs to be easy for a community to participate in. there is this balance that needs to be felt in the song. Hopefully I am capturing that in these.

Verse 1:

In the shadow of your heart

I hear you whisper in the wind

Here’s my heart for you to mend

Take my life and make it whole.

Chorus:

I’ll raise my weary hands to the sky

And sing my praise to the Lord on high

Through your blood my ransom paid

Jesus, you have made a way.

Verse 2:

Lord, the fullness of your love

Is like the vastness of the sky

Lord, the thunder of your voice

Will shake our sleeping souls to life

Chorus:

I’ll raise my weary hands to the sky

And sing my praise to the Lord on high

Through your blood my ransom paid

Jesus, you have made a way.

Bridge:

Abba Father, I surrender.

One comment

  1. I like the chorus and the second verse.



Leave a Reply

